As a credit union founded by 16 schoolteachers, OnPoint continues its commitment to strengthening local education in a variety of ways. Since 2010, the OnPoint Prize for Excellence in Education has honored local teachers making an impact on colleagues, students, and their families. From the incredibly impressive pool of nominations submitted for consideration, we are pleased to announce four Educator of the Year finalists, and also the Circle of Excellence.

Circle of Excellence: 
Six teachers have been named to the Circle of Excellence. These outstanding educators will each receive a $1,000 cash award and a $500 donation to their school.

  • Ricky Almeida - Counselor | West Sylvan Middle School | Portland Public Schools | Portland, Oregon
  • Matthew Bradley - English & Leadership Studies | Sisters High School | Sisters School District | Sisters, Oregon
  • Angela Gausman - 6th Grade | Cascade Heights Public Charter School | N. Clackamas Schools | Clackamas, Oregon
  • Cameron Glogau - 3rd Grade | Tom McCall Elementary School | Redmond School District | Redmond, Oregon
  • J Geurts - Special Education / Math | Floyd Light Middle School | David Douglas School District | Portland, Oregon
  • Rich Schuler - Social Studies | Levi Anderson Learning Center | Northwest Regional Education Service District | Beaverton, Oregon 

On Tuesday, May 22, OnPoint will announce one K-8 teacher and one 9-12 teacher as Educators of the Year, from the list of four finalists below. OnPoint will pay their mortgages for one school year and donate $2,500 to each of their schools. The remaining finalists (one K-8 teacher and one 9-12 teacher) will each receive $2,500 for themselves and $1,000 for their schools. The announcement will be made as part of the 7:00 pm broadcast on KGW8 News.

2018 Educator of the Year finalists:

  • K-8 Finalist – Lucas Houck – 6-8th grade Corbett Middle School | Corbett School District | Corbett, Oregon
  • K-8 Finalist – Sandra Moreno – Spanish Immersion – 3rd Grade | Vose Elementary School | Beaverton School District | Beaverton, Oregon
  • 9-12 Finalist – Janine Kirstein – Choir |  Gresham High School | Gresham-Barlow School District | Gresham, Oregon
  • 9-12 Finalist – Holly Neill – Science | Valor Christian School International | Beaverton, Oregon

Learn more about the Circle of Excellence and Educator of the Year finalists at