Since 2010, the OnPoint Prize for Excellence in Education has celebrated local teachers and schools making an impact in the community.

This year, our top awards are:

  • Community Builder School Award – Four schools will win $1,000 for a project of their choice.
  • Educator of the Year – Two winners: one each from grades K-8 and 9-12. Winners will have their mortgages paid for one school year and receive a $2,500 donation for their schools.

Learn more about all our awards at

Community Builder Award Update:
The OnPoint Prize Selection Committee was moved by the impressive Community Builder applications submitted for consideration. The following finalists were chosen:

2018 Community Builder school award finalists: (in alphabetical order)

  • Clackamas High School (Clackamas, OR)
  • Felida Elementary School (Vancouver, WA)
  • Gervais Elementary School (Gervais, OR)
  • Highland Elementary School (Gresham, OR)
  • La Center Middle School (La Center, WA)
  • Maple Elementary School (Springfield, OR)
  • North Eugene High School (Eugene, OR)
  • R E Jewell Elementary School (Bend, OR)
  • Tucker Maxon School (Portland, OR)
  • Vernon K-8 School (Portland, OR)

Four winners of the $1,000 Community Builder award will be announced on Wednesday, May 2. Click here to learn more about each school’s project.

Educator of the Year Update:
There are two notable milestones as we continue towards naming our 2018 Educators of the Year.

  • On Tuesday, May 8, OnPoint will announce 10 educators as our Circle of Excellence. From this group, the finalists and Educators of the Year will be selected.
  • On Tuesday, May 22, OnPoint will announce one K-8 teacher and one 9-12 teacher as Educators of the Year during a special live presentation as part of the 7:00 pm broadcast on KGW newschannel 8.

Stay up-to-date with the campaign at