The OnPoint spotlight is an ongoing blog series that highlights our employees and takes a closer look at the drive and personality of individuals on the OnPoint team. It is one way we show our appreciation for their hard work and achievements while helping our community get to know the people who make things happen here at OnPoint.

This month we’ll be highlighting our recent Accelerated Platform Training Program graduates. Our accelerated training program is designed to help highly motivated employees take the next step in their career.  

This week’s employee spotlight is Christy Blair, who started as a Teller with OnPoint in 2017 and was recently promoted to a Member Service Representative at the Gresham branch.

Here is what she had to share about her life and experiences at OnPoint:

Tell us a little about yourself.

I am a wife, a mother, and a “crazy cat lady”. We have three cats right now; two Siamese that are brother and sister (baby boy and baby girl), and one fat black cat named Timber.  I actually have portraits of the Siamese kitties on my feet.  Not that I love them more, but I got those tattoos before Timber was born.  I like other animals as well, however, cats are my favorite!  They are so much easier to take care of than lots of other animals.  As long as you keep them fed and clean, they do their own thing, and then come back to you when they want to be snuggled.

When I'm not at work you can usually find me at my house chasing after my (almost) 3-year-old, building train sets with him, or watching a movie and cooking with my husband. We play a lot of disc golf on our property, and it's been especially fun during this hot weather!

What were you doing before joining OnPoint?

Before OnPoint, I was part of the management team for a local pawn shop. I loved being there.  It was a fun environment for the most part and I considered the employees there my second family.  We had a low turnover rate so I had grown to know and love them all over the years, but a 401k wasn’t something that I was offered.  That never bothered me before I got married or had a son, but financial stability is very important to me now.  One of my best friends has been with OnPoint for 10 years and talked to me many times about joining the team, and after another friend joined Onpoint, I started to seriously consider a career in banking.  The benefits that OnPoint offers are unlike anywhere else, and that was just too good to pass up! So, I decided to apply to OnPoint and I’m happy that I made the career change.

How was your recent experience in the Accelerated Platform Training (APT) Program?

I had so much fun being part of the APT Program, I was able to meet several great people who participated in the program with me; one I had already worked with previously, but the program helped me make connections with people in almost every department and branch of OnPoint.  I’ve noticed a huge difference for employees that have gone through the APT Program, compared to employees that haven’t.  I feel better prepared for most things.  While I still have a lot to learn, I feel that I was given a great advantage in the program.  With the program, I was able to have training days at the park, and then go back to the branch, and have someone sit with me while helping members with things that I had just learned the day or so prior. It has been so nice to have a chance to learn my new role for the company. I was able to go to Montgomery Park for training, and then take that knowledge back to the branch.

Who inspires you?

My husband is my biggest inspiration. He is a full-time worker, student, husband and father. I don't know how he does it, but he does and gives everything 110% without hesitation. He always tries to see the best in every situation, and I am a better person because of him.

Are you handy at fixing things?

I consider myself a very "DIY" kind of girl. When I get an idea stuck in my head, I just go for it, no matter what time of day. I've been known to start painting different rooms in our house very late at night because that's when I realized I wanted a different color. I take on a lot of projects ignoring how hard they will be, just hoping that my luck will guide me through. It's worked out so far!

What are you currently watching on Netflix?

I am currently watching The Office for the 20 something time. No matter how many times I've seen it, it is always my "go to" for laughs. I've had it on in the background so often that my son calls it "office family" haha.

Where did you grow up? Where else have you lived?

I grew up in SE Portland, and have lived in various areas of Portland, Gresham, Clackamas, and Milwaukie. I have actually lived within 30 minutes of my childhood home my whole life. I like to drive by my old house every so often so I can see how the house and the neighborhood changes through the years; it gives me an excuse to think about all the fun things that happened there when I was growing up.

What is something you can share about your history with OnPoint?

I am still relatively new to OnPoint as a company and I am so thankful for how great everyone has been. I did not come from a banking background, but that does not matter. Everyone has been so welcoming.

What’s the one piece of advice that you would give others about life?

Do what makes you happy without hurting the people around you.

Interested in joining our team? Check out our current open positions